How I Became A Handyman

Placeholder Image
Enter a caption

Hey, guys! It’s Tim here. What inspired this blog post you ask? Well, people are frequently very surprised to hear that I enjoy my job! And this kind of annoys me – why wouldn’t I love it?

4 years ago I still didn’t know exactly what I wanted to do with my life. I changed jobs often but I found enjoyment in zero of them.  My father has been a carpenter his whole life so I know a thing or two about fixing issues around the house. At this point I was living in a small house with my wife and had to cut back on expenses because we were saving money to get a bigger home.

I gradually started helping friends with their home improvements, and slowly learnt a lot while renovating our small house. As your average guy, I had a number of tools in the garage while the collection grew bigger.

electrician-1080563_960_720

With time, people started calling me and I when I finish a job, I would give them a business card. I would do it after work hours which started to weight heavy on my family and my sleep. When the jobs became more and more, I decided to be brave and quit my job to become a full-time handyman.

Once I got used to it, I have to tell you – it is a pretty good job! I love the fact that I can help people, they can count on me, I meet new people and even become friends with some of them! I no longer spend my days at a desk from 9 to 5 and live this monotonous life.

I am happy I can provide for my family and enjoy my work at the same time! This is my journey to becoming a handyman. Who knows – maybe in a few years I’ll fall in love with another profession – but don’t worry – I will let you know 🙂

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

